Buyer Beware Carbon Parts - Icon Composites

Discussion in 'Exterior' started by ss_raptor, Mar 25, 2018.

1. ss_raptor

ss_raptor Member

Stay away from Icon Composites. Not cheap and some of worst carbon weave I've seen. The clear coat has bubbles on all the pieces. They market having some of the finest carbon that's made in the USA, what a joke. I've seen better Carbon that came from China. I'm just here to save the next guy from getting scammed by these guys.

IMG_2804.jpg

IMG_2805.jpg

IMG_2818.jpg

IMG_2821.jpg

IMG_2822.jpg

IMG_2802.jpg

2. shelteredraptor

shelteredraptor Full Access Member

There must be something in the carbon fiber chemicals cause the aftermarket pretty much blows.

3. Boosh

Boosh Member

I’m not a carbon expert but I worked in a carbon shop for a bit. The biggest thing you can do to ensure a solid piece is pull more vacuum when baking it. If you can’t pull enough vacuum, you will get the bubbles and pits that are in these pictures. As far as the weave being messed up, that’s just poor handling when laying the carbon into the molds.

Regardless, sorry to see it wasn’t what you expect to get when you pay premium prices

4. shelteredraptor

shelteredraptor Full Access Member

There was a huge thing going on in the CTSVowners because a shithead stole a hood design and sent it to China to be made and marketed it pretty much illegally. The CF came through pretty screwed up from bad manufacturing techniques. They were sold to folks that had prepaid and they had no recourse because the entire gig was back door. Moral of the story is that you really need to know exactly where the stuff is being made to have a good chance of receiving quality product.

5. LEXmotorsports goodguy

LEXmotorsports goodguy Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

@ss_raptor Has the company had a chance to respond to this problem? if so what are they offering to do about it to stand behind their US made product?

6. Antal

Antal New Member